May 24, 2009

Posted by in Featured Articles, News | 4 Comments

New Facebook Scams!

WP Greet Box icon
Hello there! If you are new here, you might want to subscribe to the RSS feed for updates on this topic, or get updates by email if you'd like.

As with most websites, scams are always abound. However, if a facebook scam were to acquire your email and password, you could be exposing personal information to hackers and phishers. This can lead to identity thieft and other public damage, concidering the scammers now have access to one of your most capable forms of communicating with your friends.

Thousands of these sites go out on a daily basis, but since every little bit helps, its important to get word out about all threats. If you get emails, messages, or any links to any part of sites like: goldbase.begreenbuddy.besilvertag.be, yospace.be (thanks, Philip), or picoband.be, ignore them. I can’t stress enough how dangerous sites like these can be. I recommend using browsers like Firefox and Google Chrome that automatically block suspicious phishing websites, and warn you when you attempt to access content on their sites.

  • Philip

    To which list I will add yospace.be, which I was confronted with yesterday. Once it gets your details (though it will need to learn English a little better before it claims mine), it seems to log in to you Facebook account and send a message to all your friends, telling them to check out the phishing site.
    Looking at your list, I think I’m going to temporarily boycott Belgian domain names.

  • http://www.technoheads.org Salem

    Haha usually its the Russians. Oh well. I’ll add yospace.be to the post. Thanks for reading!

  • http://milestone-blogs.co.uk/tehfaun Faun

    Makes me glad I use OpenDNS. Protects me from this kinda BS.

    I recommend others use it too. ’tis free. :P

  • http://milestone-blogs.co.uk/tehfaun Faun

    Obviously, I also check the URL, before anyone points it out :lol: